Plain Leroy @plainleroy

27 Nov

Stage Name? plainLeroy

What City & State are you Reppin? SoCal, City of Industry and Antelope Valley

Who are your Influences?
Stevie Wonder, Donny Hathaway, Billie Holiday, Prince, D’Angelo, Marvin Gaye, Motown, India.Arie, Commission, The Clark Sisters, Musiq, Jaheim, Lyfe Jennings, Erykah Badu, Jill Scott, Dru Hill, Wale, Nas, TDE
When did you know you would become an artist?

When I was 6 and singing next to my father having the time of my life

How would you describe your style of music?

It’s R&B/Soul with a hip-hop twist. When hip-hop was first blowing up and just beginning to approach the level it’s on today a lot of aspiring artist looked to old R&B/Soul album as instrumentals. That evolved to the sampled records being widespread and so on and so forth until you have what we have today. With my music I’m doing it a bit in reverse. I’m taking music you’d expect to hear someone spit on and making R&B/Soul tracks. I regularly incorporate spoken word/slam in my music because I was a poet and writer first.

How is your music different from what we’ve been hearing lately?

My music is different in a few ways. First, the process I just broke down. As an artist you want to do something different and I believe that starts with the foundation. My process is my foundation. Another way I differ is my aim. I am making, or aiming to make, music that is real to me and thereby real to those who hear it. Relating what I see to what is going around me both in my local community and on the bigger scale and putting it into a song. I look at myself sort of like the conscious rapper in a lot of ways. Typically, that would make me a Neo-Soul artist. Where I differ from them and have more similarities with backpackers is my soundscape. My soundscape is more danceable, more drawing to the ear. Finding that balance between the music and the lyrics is rough.

If there was anyone you could work with who would it be & why?

Living? Definitely Stevie Wonder. He is an absolute genius and I believe, if nothing else, I’d learn tons of tricks and information just from a short interaction with him. I’d also want to work with Prince for the same reasons.

Who are some artists you’ve worked with in the past?

James Minor, a budding MC out of Baltimore. Q of Rebelizim, a great young producer with some heavy credits to his name already. I’ve gotten music from a lot of great producers but haven’t worked hand-in-hand with any of them yet…the downside of being in Tokyo. Sean Divine has been great with my mixing, I know he greats tired of me sending him pages and pages of requests and instructions on how he can make me sound better but he’s been a great sport and extremely precise.

What should the fans expect?

Expect a story. Everything I do is either my story, the story of someone I know or the story I believe somebody needs to hear.

Websites to find your music? Soundcloud.com, datpiff.com, iTunes
Personal Website?
Twitter: plainleroy
Shout Outs: You Ms. Melissa Irish, i’m glad Superstorm Sandy ain’t get you. My dude James Minor, Q, Tae Beast for the swift heat, John ‘Sk’ Stephens for bringing down the price to a ‘regular’ negro standard, all my influences for being great inspiring me and all my fellow artists…. All the greats were once where we are, they didn’t just wake up on top of the world. Let’s work.

20121127-083645.jpg

20121127-083732.jpg

Leave a Reply

