Spotlight Artist: Rico Paysos

25 Mar

What city and State are you reppin?

I’m from Long Island the hip hop hall of fame, my stompin ground is Uniondale, New York baby

Who are your influences?

My musical influences are New York artists, Wu Tang, Nas, and Big,  west coast gangsta rap, Snoop, 2pac, NWA, Dre, and Dirty South kings T.I, Luda, Bun B. I always ways loved melodies, dark beats, and heavy bass. My music is like a blend of all 3 styles on a ziplocc of kush, a few liters of lean, and an adrenaline rush thats the swerve baby.

When did you know you would become an artist?

I didn’t know, I was just a little homie, freestyling in the lunch room, making mixtapes on tdk’s for fun in junior high. My homegirl older brother had dreams of starting a record label and put the idea in my head. I linked up with Johnny Juice and Chuck D of Public enemy in like 01, and they taught me a lot about song writing, and utilizing my wordplay, didnt really start up tho until 07, cause i lived, and learned, and I have a lot of stories to tell.

How is your music different from what we’ve been hearing?

I approach every beat differently, but I have created my own sound “the swerve”, my adlibs are highly recognizable, and my energy is contagious. I’m not the kind of artist that just raps just to rap, I try to make sure my songs make sense, deliver a story, theme, or a message. My producers are some of the best, and I’m glad they are on my team, I can say that my delivery and the impact of my production can consume the listener, til ya sprain ya necc or break it. #swervelife

How would you describe your style of music?

Bouncy, Fun, Catchy, Relatable,  Raw, Swervy

If there was anyone you could work with who would it be and why?

I would love to work with a lot of artist, definately all the guys I named in my influences, and new talent as well, my goal is to create something they will be come fans of as well, and hopefully they reach out to me. I’m very humble, and willing to work with any artist, I can create good music with.

Who are some artists you’ve worked in the past?

I have worked behind the scenes, performed with and been in the booth with a lot of artist, Beanie Sigel, Slim Thug, Rocko, Zaytoven, Project Pat, Chuck D, Trey Songz, Bobby V, Busta Rhymes, Reek da Villain, Freekey Zekey, Wink Loc, Tone Trump & Boogz Boogetz to name a few.

What’s in the future for you ,what should the fans expect?

I plan to be more visual, provide the people with more music videos, and more necc breaking, zone out, swerve music. I’m working on projects for two of my 4daluvofmoney Labelmates, @KrownRoyaleny (Super High Spaceship), and @Ziggy3cz, Vibin & Scribin which is a Southern Smoke mixtape, hosted by Dj Smallz, that we puttin out with Fear Factor.

I’m optimistic that Lawd of the Swerve, will land me another Underground Music Award Nomination, and hopefully bring me to a city near you…holla at me for bookings

Websites to find your music?

google me, I dont even know everywhere you can find me, but “like” me on facebook.com/ricopaysos , and www.soundcloud.com/rpaysos

Personal Website?

www.ricopaysos.com

Twitter?

follow me @ricopaysos

Shout Outs!!!

first off I wanna shoutout my family, and my fans, my Hood, Hillside, and Northside, and the people that help fuel the 4daluvofmoney movement, cause without them, I couldnt do this! All the DJ’s that support me, please continue, and hit me up if you need some singles. I can shoutout people for days, but everybody fits in one of those categories, so keep on swervin me, love is love, hate is embraced!

Leave a Reply

